Tuesday, May 19, 2009

Make money posting links on Google - Yeah right!


About half an hour ago, after I had finished checking one of my sites "Alexa rank", I decided to have a look at the Alexa "Hot URL's".
I was suprised to see a familiar looking URL at number 5 on the list of hot URL's that I have seen mentioned several times before in a few differant discussion groups. The title of the link is "How I Make $5,000 a Month Posting Links on Google".
The URL usually goes something like kevingotgreen, kevingothisgreen or in this case kevinsgreenblog. com.
The questions in discussion groups are usually something like... "Posting links on Google - Is it a scam?"
The majority of answers are "Yes, its a scam"

So when I saw the scam site ranked at number 5 on the hot URL list, I couldnt help but cringe at the thought of all the potential victims this scam may get again.
Although the site looks very scammy (to me anyway) there are a lot of people that are taken by the promises of easy money. Hopefully the authorities can step in like they did with the "GoogleMoneyTree" scam, before too many people get ripped off.

Looking closer at the Alexa hot URL list, I noticed another link to a site (this time at number 2) that was titled "Is Working Online At Home The Next Gold Rush?" I thought to myself "How ironic!" But then cringed again as I thought, "I wonder if this could be a scam site as well?". Looking at the URL in the link, gave me the impression that it was a legitimate site. So I visited it and took a closer look.

Los Angeles Tribune News (Losangeles-tribune.com/finance/indexb.php) Looks like a normal news site (and that's the scary part), reporting about a successful "Working online from home" story.
But dig deeper, and you will soon realize that it is just another "post links on Google scam".

If you Google the keywords "Losangeles-tribune.com" (without quotes), latimes.com comes up as the first result (as it should). The second result is from quantcast.com (a US only version of Alexa) which estimates 84,543 US people a month visit the site. If that number were correct, then that's a lot of potential victims.
The fact that the domain was only registered one month ago, and has a 16733 quantcast rank, could also mean that those numbers are likely to be a rough estimate and the true numbers may be a lot higher. The sites domain, design and layout make it look somewhat trustworthy and that increases the chances of people falling for the scheme.

Losangeles-tribune.com's website is not on the first page of Google for its own domain name. (some sort of sign maybe?) But it sure is getting a lot of traffic from somewhere.

UPDATE: Keywordspy.com reports that very recently, losangeles-tribune.com started spending $26,591 per day on advertising. (No wonder it gets so much traffic)

Some more information about these sites.

Created: 2009-04-16
Expires: 2010-04-16
Owners details hidden by proxy.

ICANN Registrar: ENOM, INC.
Created: 2008-12-04
Expires: 2009-12-04
Owners details hidden by proxy.

Some interesting reading.

The Los Angeles Tribune News Scam
The Electron Plumber (Exposing the Bullsh*t Of Internet Money Making)

"another part time job work at home money making scheme. This time it’s losangeles-tribune.com pushing the Easy Google Profit scam and stars our old friend Mary Steadman from Mary’s Money Blog."

Consumer fraud reporting

Warning: "Kevin and his family clearly are not the same people in the images on his different websites. In both cases, he clearly states that these are supposed to be actual photos of him (Kevin) and his family:

Warning: Why would he ask for you to pay $1?

Answer: to gain access to your credit card! See this page for an account of what happens.

Just thought I would add, after I made this post, I refreshed the Alexa Hot URL's page, and found a couple more "Make money online scams" in the list.
One of them a near duplicate of the losangeles-tribune.com's Easy Google Profit site, but this time passing themselves off as:
miamigazettenews.com and also
(The Miami Gazette News)

Below are a few more duplicate "News" sites:

nyguardian.com (New York Guardian)
theatlantatribune.com (The Atlanta Tribune)
detroittribunenews.com/homejobs (Detroit Tribune News)
detroittribunenews.com/myspace-jobs (Myspace Job Scam)
philadelphia-herald.com (Philadelphia Herald News)

A couple of blogs are starting to show up with the exact same story on them. (Ironically some are on hosted Google blogspot blogs)

Another scam? lol Obama bucks. mikehasmoney.com even has its own theme rap. "Mike has money dot com" rotfl
This site links to rts.revfusion.net /p/ f8c4..., When you Google revfusion.net, there are a number of referances to Ad Block filter lists.
The site mentions that you must pay a $2 postage fee. (Guess that's how they get your CC details)
Beware folks, and remember the saying, If it sounds to good to be true.

Why are there no URL's that expose the scams in that list :|

So what does Google say about all this? Answer

Sharing my opinion.
You can share too.


  1. Thank you for exposing this guy to me. I JUST signed up for the $1.95 and was taken to an APPLICATION FAILURE page. So I found the 800 number on the receipt I printed and called. The guy that answered told me how to log in and I was taken to a page that was going to "train" me on how to market on E-Bay!!!!!!!!!! Not what I signed up for AT ALL. I was going to post links on Google for fast cash.....I am waiting for the page you offer to "see how it works" so I can warn my bank NOT to pay this guy. Thanks again, Val.

  2. Sorry to hear that you were taken by the scam.
    Ring your bank and tell them stop the charges, if its too late, tell them the charges were unauthorized and you would like them to issue a charge back.

    Posting links on Google for fast cash is a myth.


  3. My husband just told me about this site today- printed out the paper and I had never heard of it before so I started searching and found this site. He was visiting the MSN news website that he visits often and it seemed like a legit site- it even has abc/aol/cnn/msnbc/usa today listed above the article "as seen on. ." Thanks for the info

  4. it seem like I read this post too late. I did paid 3.88$ to download Internet success Kit and one wekk later I saw my bank statement they charge me 67.88$ again. I called them and they said it's the automatic member fee/year for that Kit if I didn't cancel after seven day trial??? I did not have any idea about tht member fee and I don't know how to take my money back. Seems liek I be a victim of money scammer

  5. whenever a site says anything like "a quick and easy way to make money" this should raise suspicions

  6. Somehow the picture from France looked wrong. Turns out that it is not taken in France but in Disneyland. Check out the castle in the background. Here is a link to the Disneyland Castle for comparison.

  7. Was nearly completing my registration fom....But thank God..... something strike my mind, that i shud b well acquainted first b4 going ahead, n as i was doing so..... i came across this site n read the info regarding the scams of making easy money online.....Very helpful info....Thanks so mch frn otherwise i could have been the VICTIM of the money Scammer.


Share Your Opinion